Episode 6: BOOOOKS (of 2017)

In this episode, our resident feminist poltergeist tells a special guest(!) about their favorite books they read in 2017! Please prepare yourself for a truely incredible amount of squeeing.

giphy.gif

(This episode went up before our intrepid poltergeist read two other wonderful books that they wholeheartedly recommend: Girl Reporter by Tansy Rayner Roberts and Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant)

Mentioned in this episode:

Spinning by Tillie Walden https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33163388-spinning

The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33259027-the-duchess-deal

Bearly a Lady by Cassandra Khaw http://booksmugglerspub.com/2017/07/bearly-a-lady/

The Book Smugglers 

Trade Me by Courtney Milan https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23566506-trade-me?ac=1&from_search=true

Hold Me by Courtney Milan https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32672889-hold-me

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28209634-autonomous

In Other Lands by Sarah Rees Brennan https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31944679-in-other-lands

Feedback by Mira Grant https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22359662-feedback

The Stone Sky by N. K. Jemisin https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31817749-the-stone-sky

The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales edited by Dominik Parisien and Navah Wolfe https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27370017-the-starlit-wood

Knit One, GIrl Two by Shira Glassman https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35053703-knit-one-girl-two

Women in Refrigerators 

Women in Refrigerator (Tropes vs. Women) from Feminist Frequency

The Refrigerator Monologues by Catherynne M. Valente https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32714267-the-refrigerator-monologues

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets World by Shannon Hale and Dean Hale https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30206050-the-unbeatable-squirrel-girl

A Scot in the Dark by Sarah McLean https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27067875-a-scot-in-the-dark

(Mentioned in passing: When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23587120-when-a-scot-ties-the-knot?from_search=true)

Difficult Women by Roxanne Gaye https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28818921-difficult-women

All Systems Red by Martha Wells https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32758901-all-systems-red

Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28962996-six-wakes

A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29475447-a-closed-and-common-orbit

You Can't Touch My Hair: And Other Things I Still Have to Explain by Phoebe Robinson https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29496435-you-can-t-touch-my-hair

"I'm not like other men" 

Brothers Sinister Series by Courtney Milan https://www.goodreads.com/series/74729-brothers-sinister

Planned Parenthood of the Heartland 

The Heartland Bombshells website and facebook

About the Patreon Oopsie https://www.thestar.com/business/2017/12/15/patreon-backs-down-from-new-fee-after-uproar-from-creators-and-patrons.html

Support Feminist Poltergeist at Patreon or Ko-fi

Happy Reading in the New Year Dearest Listeners!!!